Joint Monitoring Committee (JMC)

The JMC is the main decision-making body of a Programme. The JMC is responsible for the quality and efficiency of the implementation of the Programme.

Composition of JMC

The JMC composition is as follows:





Managing Authority (Ministry of Economic Development)



Joint Technical Secretariat (Center of European Projects)


(max. 8 voting members)

Voting members:

  1. National Authority (Ministry of Economic Development)
  2. Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  3. Marshal Office of Podlaskie Voivodeship
  4. Marshal Office of Mazowieckie Voivodeship
  5. Marshal Office of Lubelskie Voivodeship
  6. Marshal Office of Podkarpackie Voivodeship
  7. Relevant Euroregions, i.e. Niemen, Puszcza Białowieska, Bug, Karpacki (one representative of all Euroregions on a rotation basis)
  8. Ministry of the Interior and Administration


Non-voting observers:

  1. Control Contact Point (Center of European Projects)
  2. Audit Authority (Ministry of Finance)


(max. 8 voting members)

Voting members:

  1. National Authority (Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Belarus)
  2. Ministry of Economy
  3. Brest Regional Executive Committee
  4. Grodno Regional Executive Committee
  5. Minsk Regional Executive Committee
  6. Gomel Regional Executive Committee
  7. State Customs Committee
  8. Relevant Euroregions, i.e. Nieman, Belovezhskaya Pushcha, Bug (one representative of all Euroregions on a rotation basis)


Non-voting observers:

  1. Control Contact Point (EU International Technical Assistance Centre in the Republic of Belarus)
  2. Ministry of Finance of the Republic of Belarus


(max. 8 voting members)

Voting members:

  1. National Authority (Ministry of Economic Development and Trade of Ukraine)
  2. Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine
  3. Volynska Oblast State Administration
  4. Lvivska Oblast State Administration
  5. Zakarpatska Oblast State Administration
  6. Rivnenska Oblast State Administration
  7. Ternopilska Oblast State Administration
  8. Ivano-Frankivska Oblast State Administration


Non-voting observers:

  1. Control Contact Point (Ministry of Finance of Ukraine)
  2. Relevant Euroregions, i.e. Bug and Karpaty (one representative of both Euroregions on a rotation basis)

Other non-voting observers

European Commission


In addition to the duly appointed representatives, in order to ensure the close association of different stakeholders or experts in the implementation of the Programme, other participants may be invited to participate in the meetings of the JMC (as the non-voting observers) according to the issues of the JMC concern and subject to the approval of the chairperson of the JMC. Among these observers, in order to ensure that the Programme implementation process is appropriately aligned with the EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region as well as that the synergies of the Programme with the EU Internal Security Fund actions are provided, the representatives of Polish coordinator of the EUSBSR and ISF Responsible Authority may be invited to the JMC meetings.


JMC Tasks


JMC shall follow the Programme implementation and progress towards its priorities using the objectively verifiable indicators and related target values defined in the Programme (Programme indicators, point 3.1.6). The JMC shall examine all issues affecting the Programme performance.

JMC may issue recommendations to the MA regarding the Programme implementation and evaluation. It shall monitor actions undertaken as a result of its recommendations.

JMC shall in particular:

  • approve the MA's work programme and financial plan, including planned use of TA;
  • monitor the implementation by the MA of the work programme and financial plan;
  • approve the criteria for selecting projects to be financed by the Programme;
  • be responsible for the evaluation and selection procedure applicable to projects to be financed by the Programme;
  • approve any proposal to revise the Programme;
  • examine all reports submitted by the MA and, if necessary, take appropriate measures;
  • examine any contentious cases brought to its attention by the MA;
  • examine and approve the annual report referred to in Art. 77 of the IR;
  • examine and approve the annual monitoring and evaluation plan referred to in Art. 78 of the IR;
  • examine and approve the annual information and communication plans referred to in Art. 79 of the IR.


JMC Functioning

The JMC shall as a rule take decisions by consensus. In justified cases, when consensus cannot be achieved as a result of prior consultations between the delegations of participating countries, the decisions of the JMC may be put to a vote. Each participating country shall have one vote, regardless of the number of members within its delegation. Details on the functioning of the JMC shall be described in details in the Rules of Procedure of the JMC which shall be unanimously approved during its first meeting.

The representative of the MA shall chair the JMC. The representative of the JTS shall act as a secretary of the JMC.

The JMC shall meet as often as necessary, but not less than once a year. It shall be convened by the MA or following a duly justified request from one of its appointed members or from the EC. It may also take decisions through written procedure at the initiative of the MA or one of the participating countries. In case of disagreement any member may request that the decision will be discussed at a meeting.

The JTS will be responsible for secretariat and organisation of the JMC meetings. After each meeting, the minutes shall be drawn and circulated to all members for approval. Final version of the minutes will be sent to each member and observer.

The MA and National Bodies will support the members of the JMC in obtaining visas.